St Helen’s Cafe & Deli

So it turns out we’re not actually in the ghetto. Look!

#nottheghetto

#nottheghetto

If you turn right out our offices you reach these beautiful tree-lined, residential roads that look particularly glorious basked in sunlight. This came as a bit of a pleasant surprise!

(I’m currently debating whether this more enjoyable scenic route home would be worth trying out on my bike, or if the twists and turns are going to play havoc with my training times, as it could potentially really slow me down. Scene vs Speed. What do you reckon?)

So off we strolled to find some decent grub, and we found just the place for it. St Helen’s Cafe & Deli. The colours and smells that fill this small place are wonderful, and I stood for quite a while debating what to have (I nearly walked out actually, having become too overwhelmed by the choice on offer – I wasn’t sure I was in the mood for decision making!) – they serve up well-thought, healthy & fresh dishes over the counter, with a jam-packed wall of other deli food and drinks filling the back wall.

Saucisson

Saucisson

Red Velvs

Red Velvs

I dove straight in with my order – a ricey, betrooty concoction in half the pot, and a large spoonful of chickpea and lamb in the other half. It turns out this was more than enough for one person for lunch.

lunch

lunch

But then, you see, I’d seen these. And once I’d decided I rather fancied these there was no turning back…

Sausage Rolls

Sausage Rolls

And this only took up a small portion of my new box, so I just HAD to fill the rest of the box with a goats cheese & caramelised onion tart, with fresh rocket on top. Sounds nice, right?! So in that went too…

lunch #02

lunch #02

…so I shouldn’t really have been surprised that my lunch (2 persons worth of food just for me) came to over £10. Oops.

It really was delicious, though – very oily but the good type, and healthy, tasty food. Je ne regrette rien, but lesson learnt; next time just go for one box.

Little bit of info from Time Out if you’re ever this way and fancy popping in: http://www.timeout.com/london/restaurants/st-helens-cafe-deli

Leave a Reply

