Banana Bread

Despite taking the photos, I wasn’t actually going to do a post for this. I just take photos of things I like. Hmm, funny that..clever blog name isn’t it!

I was feeling a bit sorry for myself having had a near-death experience on my bike commute home. Well it was more of a near-mild-bruise experience, but I was still a bit shaken and my hands were sore from squeezing my brakes so fast to avoid the erratic left-turning-non-indicating driver. Silly man.  So I decided to make some comfort food, in the form of cake.

The best thing about banana bread is that if you’ve got old bananas (yes, I’m a big culprit of this one) then you’ve probably got everything you need. As I wasn’t planning this rescue remedy, I didn’t have any of the fancy bits – the walnuts, and whatnot, but APPARENTLY this turned out to be “the nicest banana bread” they’ve* ever tasted

(*they = very honest people, who would never lie just to make me feel good.)

Ingredients

Ingredients

Ingredients

285g/ 10oz plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

110g / 4oz butter

225g/8oz caster sugar

2 eggs (free-range, happy eggs)

3 ripe bananas, mashed.

1sp Vanilla extract

To make it:

Oven: 180C

1. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl (It was getting late, so I didn’t even do this bit and it worked fine: See above: “best banana bread ever”)

2. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and sugar together. I melted the butter in the microwave so this was really easy. It’s meant to go light and fluffy but it was more runny due to me melting it too much. Again, I refer you to “best banana bread ever”

3. Add the eggs, mashed banana and vanilla extract to the butter and sugar and mix REALLY, REALLY fast.

Fast mixing

Fast mixing

4. Fold in the flour mixture

5. Grease the loaf tin and pour the cake mix in.

6. Lick the bowl and spoon.

7. Pop it in the oven for an hour or so and make yourself a cuppa.

just...waiting...

just…waiting…

8. When it’s ready, pop it on a wire rack and leave it to cool before serving.

9. Serve to nice friends who say nice things about your cooking.

banana loaf

banana loaf

banana bread

banana bread

One thought on “Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

