Family Camp

This blog wasn’t meant to be solely about food, but it does seem to be appearing a lot! Well, when it looks like this how can you not feature it? I was lucky enough to be taken out for lunch in Brighton to a super Asian restaurant, Yum Yum Ninja, and the food really was as good as it looked. We sat back in the sunshine, absorbing the rays, with the seagulls screeching overhead; it feel a bit like holiday. I highly recommend this place.  You know when there’s one thing that keeps you going back time and time again to the same restaurant? Well here it was the Ninja slow-braised beef rib (top right below) – it just fell apart in my mouth and was so rich with flavour, that as much as I like to try new things, I’d totally go for this again next time I get the chance.

Yum Yum Ninja

Yum Yum Ninja

The walk back to my car took me through the Lanes of Brighton, as well as through some lovely parks – it felt very different to my usual London lunchtime stroll…

Brighton

Brighton

As luck would have it, my Friday nights activities were based just 25 minutes drive from my Brighton meeting so off I shot to Blacklands Farm in Henfield. What perfect camping weather!

My fam are quite into camping, so we were set up within about an hour and ready to crack the beers open. It’s a pity the campsite wouldn’t allow music, as that was all that was missing from our quintessential British summer evening – long evening out in the fresh air, BBQ, beers and family as the sun set over the trees.

Camping

Camping

Summer Sun

Summer Sun

Hot air balloonCamping food

On Saturday I dragged my over-heated body from the sauna-like tent and had a long hot shower. There are loads of campsites that only offer cold showers, which would usually be a real turn-off, but this was one time I really wished it was one of those ice cold experiences!

To while away the day we kicked around Charlie’s new toy from Vietnam. We’re still unsure of the name but the packet says Cau Tuyen so were going with that. Or Cow Chin, as the english adaptation. Does anyone have a better idea of what it should be called?

[I have just been reliably (wikipedia…) informed that it is actually known as Jianzi, and that you’re meant to keep it in the air with any body part except hands. So as the photo shows, we may need to work on the no-hands element a tad more]

Cow Chin

Cow Chin

Fey

Fey

It’s days like these where I’m very grateful for the Spanish influences on my family, as the paella for lunch was delish!!

Paella

Paella

Sofia

Sofia chilling back with her favourite handful of bread

It was soon time to hop back in my car and head back to the big smoke for Em’s birthday party. Nothing like fitting it all into one weekend! And I’m shortly off to Wireless festival so time to get suncreamed-up and head on out. Happy weekend! x

Leave a Reply

