Wireless Festival

On Sunday morning I was thrilled at being woken at 7:30am to “IT’S MYYY BIRTHDAAAAAAY”, shortly followed by my bedroom door swinging open and Emily jumping on my bed like a child, to open her presents. Clearly her hangover hadn’t kicked in as early as mine.

 

Part of my pressie to Em was a yummy home-made cake. She can’t get enough of horses, so that was the theme of the cake’s design. I need to get a much stronger black food colouring though, as I really struggled to get a grey horse shoe. Having said that, this mottled version looks a bit like white slate, and I rather like it, despite it being completely unintentional!

Emily's birthday cake

Emily’s birthday cake

I also watered my flowers.

I’ve been on the look out for a cutesy watering can with a proper shower-spout for ages, so was thrilled with my recent BrandAlley purchase. Unfortunately shower-spout or no shower-spout, my shrubs are suffering in this heatwave, so I had to blur that bit of the photo out. I’m sure they’ll come straight back to life after a bit of rain…maybe..please?!

If not, I’ll just pop the watering can in front of them and hope it’s bright enough to distract from the dried out foliage lurking behind it. Sneaky.

Doing some watering

Doing some watering

Plants watered, it was time to head over to East London. The Wireless Festival was held at the Queen Elizabeth Olympic park and it was a glorious day for drinking cider, sitting back in the sunshine and grooving along to some tuuuuunes.

Wireless Festival

Wireless Festival

A ride

A ride

Whilst sitting back, chilling out, I became absolutely fascinated with the festival fashions, and thought I’d take some snaps. I was just a bit intruiged by it all. There were far too many people wearing far too few clothes and often about 2 sizes too small, which was a pity. But I didn’t want to get beaten up so I chose my photo targets appropriately (and secretly). Given how hot it was and how few clothes some of our fellow festivalers were wearing, I don’t know how this girl in the bottom left didn’t pass out from heatstroke in her woolly jumper. #didntchecktheforecast #baa.

Festival-wear (?)

Festival-wear (?)

The highlight of the day for me was of course the headline act (I suppose that’s the idea, isn’t it) JT and Jay Z with surprise guest Rihanna, woohoo! Justin did keep trying to sneak in his more current tracks, as most artists would if they had a new album out, but no one was listening. There was almost a deathly hush when he did this,  before the packed audience went wild every time he belted out his older songs. Jay Z had no troubles though, with full audience participation at all times. It wasn’t called The Legends of Summer for no reason, after all. Their set lasted nearly 3 hours, which was really impressive, so they took us from sun, to dusk, to sunset before it was time to call it a night. And buy some chips.

Justin, Jay Z & Rihanna

Justin, Jay Z & Rihanna

Good thing I bought some chips. I had NOT expected the epic trek back to Stratford. This is the first time I’d been back to the Olympic park since the Olympics and it really highlighted what a sterling job the games-makers did this time last year. The crowd-control was really poor and we had to walk for almost 45 minutes just to get back to the station. I cannot understand why they are still using “games makers” to instruct us where to go. Surely it’s cheaper to just bang up some sign posts? It’ll be interesting to see what future events there are like, but certainly worth allowing PLENTY of time to get back home from there. That’s only a small whinge as actually it was totally worth it, I had a great day out!

The looooong walk home

The looooong walk home

Leave a Reply

