Maggie Jones’s (a restaurant, not a relative) for Dinner

I got very excited today when I got to have lunch in the Centre Point Tower on New Oxford Street yesterday. At 32 floors up, my inner-tourist came out, and I began picking out all the famous places I knew (totally cheated with google maps though!) I was really cynical about going up the Eiffel Tower when I was in Paris last month, and this sort of proved my point; when you know the city, everything is so much more relevant and exciting to see from above! At the viewing point you can walk the entire way around the outside, giving you a 360 degree view, and of course the most important bit for me was finding where I live. If you look closely you should juuuust be able to make out my neck of the woods

London from high up

London from high up

After work I strolled on over to south Kensington, via some rather lovely lower-down London sights.

London from low down

London from low down: Notting Hill

London from lower down: Kensington

London from lower down: Kensington

And my strolls ended in Maggie Jones’s, just round the corner from High Street Ken, for dinner with one of my bezzies. I chose this place based on Reiss’s recommendations – have a look at their guide here for good choices near you. They’ve always come up trumps for me, so I go back again and again for ideas of what to eat, drink, see and stay, and they didn’t fail me this time either. The place was awesome!

My photos weren’t great to these first few are from Maggie Jones’s website to show how nicely it’s decorated inside:

c0078e727976bb1238be944bc8ddfa97e517ac1ebe92d72a80d0fa7a05861ca1Maggie Jones

Now for a few of my snaps…

Maggie Jones's

Maggie Jones's

Maggie Jones's

Maggie Jones's

Maggie Jones's

Maggie Jones's

I ate Stilton mousse, followed by rare fillet steak with spinach and mushroom sauce;  all washed down with Sancerre, mmmm. I was sooo full, but still fancied something a bit sweet to end on. I had my eye on the chocolate pot, but the very friendly waiter was insistent that I have the apple crumble (usually one of my absolute fave’s). After much consideration I compromised with him and he brought me out a bowl of apple crumble and ice cream with the hot chocolate sauce drizzled all over the top. Good man!

Leave a Reply

