Country road, take me home…

On Saturday, I picked Holly up from the station and gave her a brief sightseeing tour of Woodbridge. As is proving quite a bad habit for me when I have friends back to my hometown, I ensured she knew where every member of my family lived, or had once lived, where I went to school, where I once stubbed my toe, etc.

We prized the bikes from the back of my car and were ready for our first adventure.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

It was a lovely ride through the countryside, with so many beautiful scenes! It felt so fast as it must have been years since I last got out here on my bike, and I was considerably slower back then with my mountain bike and little legs.

Piggies!

Piggies!

...a little break to check the map

…a little break to check the map

I know the plastic chemist-looking glasses look really geeky, but they did the perfect job of keeping all the bugs out my eyes and I quickly learnt that as I cycled through the irrigator spray it was best to just whip them off my face for a second, to save smeary watermarks.  If you cycle in the summer, they’re totally worth it.

A suffolk cornershop

A suffolk cornershop

IMG_4666

IMG_4651

We were going at such a nice pace that we had plenty of energy to change our plans halfway round and extend our ride. Holly was desperate to see the sea but we were a little far away from it at that stage, so off to Orford we went…!

IMG_4653 IMG_4656 IMG_4657 IMG_4658 IMG_4659 IMG_4660

Not quite the sea but there was water, some boats, and a proper little fisherman singing songs about mussels. What a charmer!

There was just time for a quick pint, before we had to head home. Holly soon realised every pub in Suffolk is laced with Adnams, so gave it her first try. I’m pretty sure she enjoyed it as it certainly wasn’t her last!

IMG_4664 IMG_4665

We covered a fair bit of distance considering we only set off in the early afternoon. 31.4 miles in fact. Woop!

IMG_4667 IMG_4670

And we even got back in time for a spot of tennis. Who can resist tennis with these views..?

IMG_4671 IMG_4672 IMG_4673

We had time to sneak in a little bit of play too, but then it was dinner time. More on that later…IMG_4677

Leave a Reply

