National Afternoon Tea Week. How very British

20140819-124641.jpg

Last week was National Afternoon Tea Week. What a week?!

Not wanting to miss any of this, I set to work in the kitchen.

I’d give you my recipe but seeing as my (delicious) scones failed to rise, I will wait until i have more success to share the secrets!

20140819-124723.jpg
I had, until recently, assumed the Tea layout was fairly casual, popping your delicacies as and where they’d fit on the cake stand. Wrong. There is actually a correct order. Always start at the bottom of the cake stand and work your way up in order of course.

20140819-124757.jpg
Sandwiches on first. Crusts off.

Triangles are best way to get the most from your sarnies but I thought the rectangles felt more fancy. Up to you.

20140819-124827.jpg
Next up, whether they’ve risen or not, you’ll want to pop your scones.

Jam and cream must be on hand nearby. I personally opt for cream then jam but this is an debate I don’t wish to get any further into!

20140819-124851.jpg
Finally the sweet treats. I clearly didn’t make these, but as a birthday treat sent to me all the way from Australia, it seemed ok to give them a chance to shine.

20140819-124925.jpg
If I go for the full shebang next time, il test out homemade macaroons for the top floor.

What would you do differently?

20140819-124956.jpg

Leave a Reply

