Mint and lemon ricotta ravioli

For my birthday my brother bought me a pasta maker.
 
I’ve wanted one for ages as it was the only way I would be able to recreate a specific dish I needed. Yep, needed.
 
A couple of years ago I had the most delicious pasta dish at Jamie Oliver’s restaurant in Birmingham. It was so good that I went back to several of his more local restaurant chains to have it again, but it was NEVER THERE!
 
They had discontinued it.
 
But what is this amazing, delicious, mouth-watering dish?
 
Ricotta.
Lemon.
Mint.
Ravioli.
20140901-215701.jpg
Oh yeeeeah.
It is so great, and here is how you go about having this taste sensation for yourself.
Ingredients:
PASTA
– 6 cups plain flour
– 6 eggs
– 3/4 cup water
– 2 teaspoons olive oil
FILLING
– 250g fresh Ricotta
– 1 lemon
– handful of fresh Mint (1/4 cup)
– 70g fresh Parmesan
– 100g butter
– pinch of salt & pepper
First, make the pasta.
Put all the flour into a large bowl and make a well in the middle.
Beat the eggs, water and oil together then pour into the well.
Stir together and as it thickens up you can use your hands to form it into a ball.
This is the part I didn’t leave enough time for – knead until smooth and elastic. It literally only needs about 8-10 minutes, so don’t skip this bit! Add extra flour if necessary to keep the dough from sticking. I rushed this and the result was bad pasta.
Cover and let rest for 30 minutes.
Now it’s time for the filling.

Chop the mint up as small as you can. Grate the rind of one lemon and take the juice of half the lemon, and combine this with the ricotta in a bowl.

20140901-215709.jpg

Unfortunately where I thought I had a giant bag of plain flour, it was in fact a bag of icing sugar masquerading in a red and white bag, so I had to substitute the plain flour for wholemeal which is why the pasta is darker and it also didn’t hold as well as I’d liked so I left it thicker than I would with a plain mix.
You can also see my inability to knead effectively showing through here. 
 
After rolling the pasta several times through the machine (just take a small handful at a time) it should be ready to package up into ravioli.20140901-215717.jpgCut it into strips that are double the length of the ravioli you want. Dollop a bit of mix on one end then using your finger, dot water from a bowl around the edge to help it stick. Then encased the mix and use a fork to secure the edges down.

20140901-215724.jpgPop them into a bowl of boiling, salted water and leave for approx 3 minutes until they begin to float on the surface. 20140901-215729.jpg

20140901-215734.jpg

The finished result was delish (you’ll spot I also tried some ricotta and Italian sausage ones but they weren’t as good) – grind some pepper over and add some olive oil for an authentic taste.

20140901-215740.jpg

Next time I’m going to try a lemon ravioli with a mint butter sauce as it was missing a sauce on the outside. I will also try full plain-flour dough.

Keep your eyes peeled for the next pasta post – I will try much harder, but good to learn from mistakes. If you try this recipe yourself let me know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

