Dairy-free peanut butter hot chocolate

I’ve recently started to struggle with lactose, and, as such have cut it out my diet to reduce the stomach pains and bloating.

I find that whenever I try and cut something out my diet – whether for health reasons or a January challenge – it becomes all-consuming and I can’t think about anything else!

This has happened with milk.

I love hot chocolate but it’s not something I would typically crave. All of a sudden it became all I could think about, so I had a play around with a few ingredients and have come up with a delicious dairy-free hot chocolate with a twist.

Ingredients

– 2 tbsp peanut butter (smooth or crunchy both work)

– Hot chocolate (check instructions for quantity per serving as they differ across brands)

– Almond milk – sweetened is better for this recipe (1 mug worth)

IMG_1661-0.JPGPop the whole lot into a saucepan on a medium heat.

IMG_0523.JPG

Swirl the glorious chocolate powder through it, making wonderful patterns as you go…IMG_1577.JPG

IMG_1578.JPG

And then you just want to cook it until the peanut butter melts through the milk. Once that has happened you’ll want to let it simmer for 1 minute to thicken it up. This last bit is important as it creates a thickness that you can almost bite through when you drink it!

IMG_0529.JPG

IMG_0532-0.JPG

IMG_0533.JPG

 

Tuck yourself up with your hot, dreamy drink and get your nose in a good book.

The perfect end to a busy weekend!IMG_0535.JPG

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Dairy-free peanut butter hot chocolate

Leave a Reply

